National Accreditation Authority for Translators & Interpreters (NAATI) – Credentialed Community Language (CCL)

Did you know you can gain “five bonus points” for point-based skilled migration visas just by getting accredited in community language?

NAATI CCL is purely designed for potential skilled migrants to obtain an additional 5 points to enhance their chances of obtaining PR in Australia. CCL will not permit the candidates to be employed as translators. This examination would assess the language ability only at a community level.

The examination will be conducted online (via Microsoft Teams) which means that anyone could face the test from their own homes. 

The test consists of two dialogue recordings. Each dialogue represents a conversation between a native English Speaker and a native LOTE speaker – Language Other Than English (Eg: Sinhalese) 

Examination fee is AUD 800 (Australian Dollars Eight hundred only), which is paid directly to NAATI by the candidate.

For more information click here

Unitech Institute of Vocational & Trade Training (sister company of The Visa Centre) is launching online classes for interested candidates, please contact us on +94777633933 (on WhatsApp or Viber only) for more information.

National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters – NAATI has introduced a CCL (Credentialed Community Language) test that gives 5 points for the point-based general skilled migration visas.

The Credentialed Community Language Test (CCL) is an assessment of your language abilities at a community level.

The CCL Test is generally taken by the applicants who are looking to lodge a point-based visa application. On successfully passing the test, applicants are awarded five bonus points. These bonus points are also referred to as Credentialed Community Language Points.

Test Format

NAATI CCL tests are delivered online via Microsoft Teams.

The test consists of two dialogue recordings. Each dialogue represents a conversation between a native English Speaker and a native Language Other Than English (LOTE) speaker. Each dialogue is approximately 300 words, with about half in English and half in the LOTE. The dialogues are divided into segments of 35 words or less.

As CCL tests are online, candidates overseas can sit the test.

Topics Covered

The dialogues used will reflect real-life situations in Australian society. They are designed to examine a candidate’s ability to understand both languages and communicate in them. The topics may include:

  • Business
  • Consumer Affairs
  • Employment
  • Health
  • Immigration/Settlement
  • Legal
  • Community
  • Education
  • Financial
  • Housing
  • Insurance
  • Social Services

How Is the Test Assessed?

A minimum of two examiners will assess a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in English and a Language Other Than English (LOTE).

Two significant factors that contribute to assessment are:

  • Language Quality – competency in both English and LOTE
  • Language Register – the level of formality with which a candidate transfers the meaning

How Is the Test Marked?

The Test comprises of two dialogues; each worth 45 marks. In order to pass the test, a candidate requires to obtained a minimum mark of 29 in each dialogue and an overall score of 63 out of 90.

The result for the CCL Test will be given as:

  • Pass: 63 or higher (marks out of 90)
  • Marginal Fail: between 58 and 62.5 (marks out of 90)
  • Clear Fail: less than 58 (marks out of 90)

Example: In an instance where a candidate achieves 23/45 in Dialogue 1, 41/45 in Dialogue 2 and obtains an Overall Score of 64/ 90, the result given will be CLEAR FAIL as the candidate hasn’t achieved required minimum score in Dialogue 1 (i.e. 29).

Results are sent via email within 4-6 weeks of the test date and are valid for three years from the date of issue.

Available Languages

Following is the list of languages that NAATI offers for CCL Test.

Albanian Filipino Korean Serbian
Arabic Finnish Lao Sinhalese
Assyrian French Malay Somali
Bangla German Mandarin Spanish
Bosnian Greek Nepali Swahili
Bulgarian Hazaragi Pashto Tamil
Burmese Hindi Persian Thai
Cantonese Hungarian Polish Tigrinya
Croatian Indonesian Portuguese Turkish
Czech Italian Punjabi Urdu
Dari Japanese Romanian Vietnamese
Dutch Khmer Russian  

Note: Languages available for NAATI CCL test can change at any time.