Regional Sponsored Migration (Subclass 187)

Regional Sponsored Migration (Subclass 187)

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa (subclass 187) is a permanent residence visa for skilled workers who want to work in regional areas of Australia. It is part of the Permanent Employer Sponsored Visa program.

The visa has three streams:

  • The Temporary Residence Transition stream is for Temporary Work (Skilled) (subclass 457) visa holders who have worked for their employer in their nominated occupation for two years and their employer wants to offer them a permanent position in that occupation.
  • The Direct Entry stream is for:
    -people who have never, or only briefly, worked in the Australian labour market
    -temporary residents who do not qualify for the Temporary Residence Transition stream; or
    -applicants with a nomination lodged with us before 1 July 2012
  • The Agreement stream is for people nominated by an employer through a labour agreement.
Get In Touch

  • Requirements

    Requirements for the applicant are as follows:

    • have been nominated by an approved Australian employer in regional Australia (outside of the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Newcastle, Sydney, Wollongong and Melbourne) within six months before applying for the visa
    • be under the age of 50 at time of application lodgement, unless exempt
    • at time of application lodgement, have the required skills and qualifications for the position nominated for – must hold any mandatory registration, license or professional membership, or already be fully assessed as suitable by the relevant body
    • at time of application lodgement, have appropriate English language skills for Temporary Residence Transition (TRT) stream and Direct Entry (DE) stream unless exempt
    • meet health and character requirements
    • meet the requirements of the relevant stream


    Some people over the age of 50 may still apply.

    This visa allows the applicant and family to live in Australia and work permanently in a regional area. A regional area is anywhere other than the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Newcastle, Sydney, Wollongong and Melbourne.

Popular Countries